Two Poems

Evaluation
 
I’m always cutting to the quick
in the way that I spit
in the face
of the system
 
but the God’s honest truth
is that I must
tear myself to the ground
from the inside out
at this point
 
because I don’t stand a chance
fighting any monsters
in lofty towers
if I don’t up my play
and get game-tight
with a rally and a rise
of all my values
 
I’m all for
poking the dragon
and raising a ruckus
but not before
my vision and focus
are laser precise
and back up to snuff
 
 
 
Humble Pie Fever Fall
 
One step at a time
 
when your consciousness
is in a humbling process
 
take your medicine
 
it might taste bitter
 
but returns are sweet
on the far side of balance
Leave a Reply

